Music for a Summer's Evening - WSO

Wrexham Symphony Orchestra

See dates and times  

Conductor Richard Howarth leads Wrexham Symphony Orchestra for an evening of music for a summer’s evening.

Featuring Delius’ “A Walk to the Paradise Garden” and Dvořák’s wonderful Symphony no.6 alongside Korngold’s Violin Concerto in D major.

Korngold was one of the leading Hollywood composers of the 1930’s and 40’s, winning the Oscar for Best Music for his score for “The Adventures of Robin Hood”. An acclaimed composer his violin concerto contains a number of “quotes” from some of his earlier film scores.


Delius - “A Walk to the Paradise Garden”

Korngold - Violin Concerto in D major

Dvořák - Symphony no.6 in D major

Wrexham Symphony Orchestra

Wrexham Symphony Orchestra are William Aston Hall’s resident orchestra.

Founded in 1969 by the late Bryn Williams, then senior lecturer of Music at Cartrefle Teacher Training College in Wrexham.

The WSO has grown to its present day membership numbering over sixty players and regularly attracts professional guest conductors and outstanding soloists.

For more information about WSO click here.